

CONGRATULATIONS!

John M. Carethers, MD, MACP, selected for President of the AAP in 2018



John M. Carethers, MD, MACP John G. Searle Professor and Chair Department of Internal Medicine

John M. Carethers, MD, MACP, has been selected President-elect of the Association of American Physicians (AAP) beginning April 2017 and will become President in April 2018. The AAP is the oldest honorific medical society in America, founded in 1885 by seven physicians, including Dr. William Osler and Dr. William Henry Welch. The association is composed of members who are leading senior physician scientists and are competitively selected. Dr. Carethers has served on the AAP Council since 2012.

Dr. Carethers is the John G. Searle Professor and Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine and Professor of the Department of Human Genetics. He received his BS degree in Biological Sciences with a minor in Chemistry from Wayne State University, and his MD with high distinction from the same institution. Dr. Carethers did his internship and residency in Internal Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital, followed by a fellowship in gastroenterology at the University of Michigan.

Dr. Carethers was the founding Director of the NIH-funded UCSD Gastroenterology Center grant and was the Director of the gastroenterology T32 training grant. His laboratory research continues to be funded by the NIH. He is the former PI of the SDSU/UCSD Cancer Center Comprehensive Partnership U54 grant, which addresses cancer disparities. He has published over 165 manuscripts and book chapters. He is a Senior Associate Editor

for Gastroenterology, the highest impact gastroenterology journal. He completed a 2-year appointment on the National Commission for Digestive Diseases, a U.S. Congressional Commission, after his appointment by Elias Zerhouni, MD, then Director of the National Institutes of Health. In addition to the Association of American Physicians, he is also a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation and the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.